email print

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu to receive 2015 AEI Irving Kristol Award

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Washington, DC (September 22, 2015) — American Enterprise Institute (AEI) president Arthur C. Brooks announced today that Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu will receive the 2015 Irving Kristol Award on November 9, 2015, in Washington, DC. The annual award, AEI’s highest honor, is given to individuals who have made exceptional practical and intellectual contributions to improve government policy, social welfare, or political understanding. The winner is selected by AEI’s Council of Academic Advisers. The award ceremony and dinner will be held at the National Building Museum in Washington, DC.

Currently in his fourth term, Prime Minister Netanyahu will share his insight into the Middle East; his take on US-Israel relations; and the growing challenges facing Israel, including regional turmoil, the rise of religious extremism, the impact of the Syrian killing fields, and the ensuing mass migration.

During his many years in office, he has dealt with terror attacks against Israel and peace process negotiations with the Palestinians. He has reformed Israel’s economy, streamlined the government’s bureaucracy, improved access to education, and increased foreign investment to record highs.

“It is an honor and a privilege to have Prime Minister Netanyahu join us for the 2015 AEI Annual Dinner,” said AEI president Arthur C. Brooks. “Israel serves as a reminder that a commitment to free enterprise, democracy, human dignity, and the courage to defend one’s values are the best model to lift up all people. For this and his many other contributions, we are pleased to present the prime minister with the 2015 Irving Kristol Award.”

“I am honored to have been chosen to receive the Irving Kristol Award,” said Netanyahu. “I was fortunate to have known Irving, who was a towering intellectual, a stalwart friend of Israel, and a great champion of the US-Israel alliance. I look forward to receiving this award and discussing ways in which the unique friendship between Israel and the United States can continue to grow deeper and stronger as we confront the enormous challenges we face together.”

The Irving Kristol Award was established in 2002 in honor of AEI senior fellow Irving Kristol, replacing the Institute’s Francis Boyer Award, which had been awarded annually for the previous 25 years. Previous recipients of AEI’s highest honor include Arthur F. Burns, Dick Cheney, Gerald Ford, Alan Greenspan, Henry Kissinger, Ronald Reagan, Paul Ryan, Antonin Scalia, and Clarence Thomas.

This event is by invitation only. For additional information regarding the Irving Kristol Award or other media inquiries please contact AEI Media Services at [email protected] or 202-862-5829.


AEI is a nonprofit, nonpartisan public policy research organization that works to expand liberty, increase individual opportunity, and strengthen free enterprise.